Today I started working out (again)

How many times have you started working out? Or am I the only one who just can’t stick with it ever? I do it for a few days, and then I slack a little and the whole thing is over before I realize it. I’m putting this out here to be a motivation for me, to not quit. it’s quite ambitious for me to start blogging every day and start working out at the same time. But I keep my motivations up. And I started some new strategies to keep on moving.

 

Do it after waking up

With this I can trick my body into thinking I’m a big ball of energy. And I would stretch anyway, because my body usually wakes up grumpy, so I just have to continue with the stretching and make it into dance moves. Starting the day with dancing is empowering and fun, makes me feel like I’m lean and fabulous.

And for the rest of the day I would walk around like hell yeah, I did something already today, I’m unstoppable. Until the soreness kicks in. Then I’m dead.

 

Start easy

As I said, I start with stretching and then dance around all goofy. If you’re shy it’s still okay, because it’s early and everyone is still asleep, because you’re doing it after waking up 😉 Dance gets me motivated to become more flexible and fit, so I have the power to continue. Then I start jumping around and just pumping up the energy level. If I would start with crunches or lift, or whatever, I would give up very very soon. Like right after the first move.

 

Music

I have my phone at reach and I will make a playlist (or several, so it won’t get boring), that will follow the pace of my workout. For stretches, something light and calming, then something energetic, and for the boring monotone parts something really fun and powerful, so I won’t think the whole time “ah for the love of chocolate, I’m done, I’m done, and I will live like a sloth, everybody loves sloths, right? I should move to Australia and become a sloth. Man, I’m really out of shape”

 

Don’t beat up yourself

 

I might miss a day, and that’s okay. I guess. I mean I don’t want to give up just because I skipped a day. Missing one day is still better than not working out at all.

 

Motivation

Just thinking about sports is helping me, putting thoughts into my mind about fitness. Making a playlist. Watching acrobats. Not throwing out those jeans that I used to fit in a few years ago. Oh yeah jeans, I will wear you, and feel good in you, and I’ll be able to sit without hurting my belly, and maybe I will even need a belt someday! Screw you, jeans. I’m gonna conquer you.

Also it helps to know I’m not alone. ShayCarl’s been doing Shaytober and now Movember. There are many cool people joining in on the fun. I just wish I could actually do this with someone, well, except maybe the dancing part, because I look ridiculous.

 

I don’t know, does these tips sound a bit hypocrite? Because I started with telling you that I’m a quitter. Maybe we should get back on the subject after a few weeks. I may sound completely different.

If there is anybody who is struggling with the start (and staying on track), let’s do this together! Leave a comment and let’s keep each other motivated! We can do this!

Leave a Reply

